A really special gift this Christmas

I am starting out this blog at the beginning of 2010, but I figure I should rewind a bit to Christmastime and mention something very special that was given to me….Andrea!

Christmas this year for me had already started a little different. It rarely ever snows before Christmas here, but this year it did, canceling our cantata’s Saturday show which I had worked hard for practicing. I was running sound this year, which is different, because I run the lights typically. We were only able to run the show on Sunday evening, so I was a little disappointed in that, but I liked the snow, and our cantata “A Baby Changes Everything” turned out awesome showing to a packed sanctuary.

I met Andrea a few months prior when she started coming to our evening church group, and the first time I saw and spoke with her, I knew at the very least, we would connect on a friendship level. Her and I had talked some and gotten to know each other a little and I invited her to our family Christmas gathering at my aunt’s house just after the Christmas Eve service. I was mixing sound once again at the Christmas eve service just prior to our family gathering, Glenda Terrell played “God Is With Us” on the piano…an awesome song that really touched me. At the family gathering, I started getting the feeling that something really good was happening here as we really connected.

I invited Andrea over to the house for Christmas day with the rest of the family, and she was eager to join us once again… Me or my crazy family didn’t scare her off, and she was eager to spend more time with me 🙂 After dropping her off at her car at the church following the family Christmas party, I loaded the Casting Crowns album “Peace on Earth” into the stereo, and played “God Is With Us” again for the drive back to my place. As the song started, an awesome feeling came over me. I turned up the song up very loud in the stereo and started singing, but emotion overtook me so strong, I could not sing, but only listen…I was in tears, tears of joy as I sang the first 4 lines of the song, which were suddenly so true for my own heart!

Here’s the lyrics of this song:

The skies don’t seem to be as dark as usual
The stars seem brighter then they’ve been before
Deep within I feel my soul a stirring
As though my hope has been restored
The shepherds say they’ve heard the voice of angels
Confirming rumors spread across the land
That a child protected well from Herod’s anger
Is our Father’s Son, and the son of man

Love is raining down on the world tonight
There’s a presence here I can tell
God is in us, God is for us, God is with us, Emmanuel
He’s the Savior we have been praying for
In our humble hearts He will dwell
God is in us, God is for us, God is with us, Emmanuel

I feel compelled to tell all who will listen
That peace on earth is not so out of reach
If we can find grace, mercy and forgiveness
He has come to save, He is all of these

You’re the Savior we have been praying for
In our humble hearts You will dwell
You are in us, You are for us, You are with us, Emmanuel

This is a song written about God’s greatest gift to Mankind…Jesus Christ, his birth, and how he fills our hearts with hope. Andrea is an answered prayer, and is one of the greatest Christmas gifts I can say I have ever received. This song and the amazing feeling I got this past Christmas when our relationship started will forever be etched in my mind!

You can listen to the song here:

Based on my photo library, this is the very first picture taken of us together:

This entry was posted in my life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

