Where did all the gas go?

Okay, here’s a troubleshooting puzzle for you:

I have a small travel trailer that I park on a seasonal campsite during the summer.  While it is parked there, I plug it into a 30 ampere power outlet.  The power connection however will not operate everything in the trailer.  The stove, water heater, and furnace operate off of propane gas.  The refrigerator also can operate on gas when there is no electricity present, but there hasn’t really been a lot of storms this summer big enough to knock out the electricity and need to run it off gas.  The source of propane is two ordinary 20 pound tanks just like a backyard barbecue grill runs off of.   Also on the campsite is a screened tent that we use for outdoor dining.  I ran an extension cord from the outlet on the camper to the tent to run lights, cooking appliances or whatever.

Now, the problem is that I have used up much more propane than I typically do this summer.  I usually get through a 3-month season and use up most of one tank.  2 months into this season however, I have emptied one tank, and I am about halfway through the second tank.  I haven’t really been using the appliances any more than I typically do, so I couldn’t figure out where all the gas went, but I actually did, and it was a rather surprising reason.  Based on the information given above about the campsite, if you can figure out why I used so much propane gas, you should an engineering job!

Post you thoughts on this below, but I’ll post the answer in a few days if you can’t figure it out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where did all the gas go?

  1. bryanmills says:

    Um… somebody unhooked your tank while you were gone to use it for their grill?

  2. Mom says:

    Squirrel chewed into the line and sucked out the gas to feel good (like he did on the BBQ grill)

Leave a Reply

